• No products in the cart.
  • No products in the cart.
  • No products in the cart.


Benevento/Russo Duo
Best Reason To Buy The Sun



1. Becky
2. Welcome Red
3. Sunny’s Song
4. Vortex
5. 9×9
6. Scratchitti
7. The Three Questions Marks
8. Bronko’s Blues
9. My Pet Goat
10. Mephisto

SKU RPF-0021 Categories , ,


Benevento/Russo Duo—the electrifying combo of Marco Benevento on keys and Joe Russo on drums—made a name for themselves on the downtown NYC rock and jazz scenes in the mid-Aughts. Within a year of their debut at Knitting Factory, they’d be touring the U.S. and garnering praise from Pitchfork, Relix, Village Voice and others. All these years later, Marco and Joe still play together in the beloved Grateful Dead revival band, JRAD. Now, for the first time ever, the Benevento/Russo Duo’s acclaimed studio albums, ‘Best Reason To Buy the Sun’ and ‘Play Pause Stop’ are available as 2-LP sets on 180-gram vinyl with new liner notes and previously unpublished photos. Bonafide classics of their era, both individually and collectively, ‘Best Reason To Buy The Sun’ and ‘Play Pause Stop,’ merge indie, jam and post rock into a singular ecstatic vision with tracks like “Becky,” “Something For Rockets,” “Scratchitti” and more.

Additional information


2-LP 180-Gram Vinyl, CD – Original Ropeadope Pressing

>>> Back to Shop <<<