• No products in the cart.
  • No products in the cart.
  • No products in the cart.


Circles Around the Sun



1. Babyman
2. You Gotta Start Somewhere
3. Leaving (Rogue Lemon)
4. Detroit DOS
5. Landline Memories
6. Pete Jive
7. Money’s No Option

SKU RPF-0015 Categories , ,


Circles Around the Sun’s third full-length studio album, a self-titled, seven track collection, marks the final recordings of founding member and guitarist Neal Casal. The sessions were tracked at legendary recording engineer Jim Scott’s Southern California studio just one week prior to Casal tragically taking his own life. In a note left behind by Casal, he requested that the album be completed and for the band to continue in his absence. CATS surviving members keyboardist Adam MacDougall, bassist Dan Horne and drummer Mark Levy honored those wishes, making a decision to finish the album and to move forward as a band.

Circles Around The Sun’s unconventional origin began when Casal was asked to record a handful of Grateful Dead-influenced instrumentals to be played during the set breaks at The Dead’s “Fare Thee Well” concerts in 2015. To accomplish the task, Casal assembled MacDougall, Horne and Levy to join him in the studio. That was supposed to be the extent of it. Fast forward to the recordings being played over the stadium’s PA at the shows. The response from the audience was uniformly resounding, quite literally blowing up the internet with questions as to where this music came from and ultimately pleas for more. To appease the demand, Circles Around The Sun released those recordings as their debut album, ‘Interludes for the Dead.’ It was followed by several electrifying live performances. Again, the response was so positive, and the band was having so much fun making music together, that they decided to keep going. Prior to Casal’s passing they released two more recordings, the double album ‘Let It Wander’ in 2018 and the EP, ‘Circles Around The Sun Meets Joe Russo,’ in 2019.


Additional information


CD, 2CD, 2LP, LP

>>> Back to Shop <<<