DRKWAV is Skerik (saxophones), John Medeski (keyboards) and Adam Deitch (drums). The three master musicians have come together for The Purge, an entirely uncompromising debut album that delves deep into the furthest corners of the human psyche. Co-produced and mixed by venerated studio wizard Randall Dunn, DRKWAV conjure a wall of intricately detailed psychedelic sound. Each of the recordings eight tracks seemingly designed as cinematic overture. True to its name, the trio revels in the pitch black, yet continually discover beauty and shed light through sonic exploration.