• No products in the cart.
  • No products in the cart.
  • No products in the cart.


The New Mastersounds
The Nashville Session


1. One Note Brown
2. Coming Up Roses
3. Burnt Back
4. Drop It Down
5. The Minx
6. 102%
7. Carrot Juice
8. Vandenburg Suite
9. Made For Pleasure
10. In The Middle

SKU RPF 1615 Categories ,


From their inception in Leeds, UK nearly two decades ago, The New Mastersounds have wholeheartedly embraced the “old school” label—their sound rooted deeply in those classic soul jazz, boogaloo and funk albums on labels such as Blue Note and Prestige by artists like Wes Montgomery, Jimmy Smith, Jimmy McGriff and Lou Donaldson. The New Mastersounds’ latest LP, The Nashville Session, takes that devotion one step further by recording in the same tradition that many of those rare groove gems were made. The 10-track collection, cut at Welcome To 1979 studio in Nashville, was multi-tracked live onto one-inch tape in a single evening session in front of a small studio audience. Following the performance the recording was mixed down to quarter-inch stereo to then be cut direct to vinyl lacquers. There are no guests and no overdubs, just bass, drums, guitar and organ—essentially pure New Mastersounds.

Hitting the studio at the tail end of their Fall and Winter 2015 cross-country U.S. tour, the band was razor sharp and vise tight. They selected material to record from throughout their 16-plus year career and ten studio albums. The lone exception being their take on legendary jazz guitarist Grant Green’s arrangement of James Brown’s “In The Middle.” The results from top to bottom are gritty, greasy and funky to the bone. The effort will be released exclusively on vinyl via a limited edition 1000-piece pressing. The Nashville Session presents The New Mastersounds at their finest, utterly unadulterated by digital technology, fully analog and unapologetically old school.

Additional information



>>> Back to Shop <<<